Live Coverage of Abu Dhabi Tour - Stage 2

Race overview:

Distance: 129km

Start Location: Abu Dhabi (Yas Marina)

End Location: Abu Dhabi (Marina Island)

Hello and welcome to our live coverage from stage 2 of the Abu Dhabi Tour. We start and finish in Yas Marina, with another day set to be decided by the sprinters.

Live commentary by Daniel Benson

  1. 11:25:54 BST

    The riders have passed through the neutralized zone and are currently heading towards the first 10km of the stage. There's no break but there have been a number of attacks from the peloton. Astana are towards the front of the peloton with Guardini there too.

  2. 11:24:27 BST

    Today's stage is a "flat stage across the city, starting at the Yas Marina Circuit and heading towards the southern part of the city along wide and mostly straight roads," according to the race guide book. 


    "After the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque and the Exhibition Hall, the peloton turns back on itself, returning to Yas Island, then follows the Corniche until the Emirates Palace. There the riders will face a U-turn, cycling again alongside the Corniche until Yas Island, where the finish line is positioned next to the Yas Mall. Again, a mass sprint is expected."


  3. 11:16:10 BST

    Today the riders face 129km of almost entirely flat roads. Unlike yesterday the heat is holding off so we shouldn't see the race stage shortened by the riders and race organisers - as we saw on stage 1. Temperatures, a more bearable 34 degrees today.


  4. 11:13:35 BST

    A reminder of where things stand on GC coming into the stage. Guardini holds a four second lead over Boonen after his stage win and bonus seconds from stage 1.


    1 Andrea Guardini (Ita) Astana Pro Team 4:21:01
    2 Tom Boonen (Bel) Etixx - Quick-Step 0:00:04
    3 Daniele Bennati (Ita) Tinkoff-Saxo 0:00:06
    4 Paul Voss (Ger) Bora-Argon 18 0:00:07
    5 Francisco Mancebo (Spa) Skydive Dubai Pro Cycling Team
    6 Alessandro Bazzana (Ita) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling 0:00:08
    7 Songezo Jim (RSA) MTN - Qhubeka 0:00:09
    8 Andrea Palini (Ita) Skydive Dubai Pro Cycling Team 0:00:10
    9 Marco Canola (Ita) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling
    10 Edwin Avila (Col) Colombia

Back to top