Live Coverage of Tour de Yorkshire - Stage 1

Race overview:

Distance: 184km

Start Location: Beverly

End Location: Settle

Welcome to live coverage of stage 1 of the Tour de Yorkshire from Beverly to Settle

Start list

Live commentary by Sadhbh O'Shea

  1. 12:57:11 BST

    The conditions are playing havoc with the peloton and it is strung out in one very long line. 


  2. 12:51:23 BST

    Today should be a sprint stage, although the weather could have something to say about that. There are a few contenders for the victory including Orica-GreenEdge's Caleb Ewan. His fellow Australian Mark Renshaw could be up in the mix to, as could Roompot's Barry Markus and Giant-Alpecin's Nikias Arndt.


  3. 12:47:48 BST

    Kennaugh now has some help with Zandio moving up to the front. Direct Energie are looming just behind them.

  4. 12:44:48 BST

  5. 12:37:34 BST

    • Team Sky 2016

    Pete Kennaugh is the rider doing all the work for Sky at the moment and with a cross headwind battering the peloton it is strung out. He got himself into a spot of bother yesterday with his comments about women's cycling. You can read about it here


  6. 12:32:15 BST

    The gap continues to grow to the escapees, who now have 4:08 on the peloton. Team Sky are doing some management work on the front as are Direct Energie. 


  7. 12:28:54 BST

    • Orica GreenEdge jersey 2016

    This week's race is probably a nice little bit of respite for British Cycling after a torrid week for the governing body. The latest news came last night with Simon Yates returning a positive test for an asthma medication. The team have said that it was down to an administrative error.


  8. 12:23:36 BST

    The six riders in the break are Jens Wallays (Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise), Pete Williams (One Pro Cycling), Sebastian Mora (Raleigh GAC), Matt Cronshaw (Madison Genisis), Nils Politt (Katusha), Graham Briggs (JLT Condor).


  9. 12:15:56 BST

    Hepworth gives up on his chase and is caught by the peloton. 


  10. 12:15:01 BST

    We have another rider from Raleigh trying to jump the gap but it is now up to 1:34 and it could be a struggle to make it. 


  11. 12:12:20 BST

    178km remaining from 184km

    The breakaway are edging clear and with 178km to go it has gone up to 47 seconds. The peloton is still quite small after that very early crash. 


  12. 12:06:24 BST

    Up front, it is now six riders in the breakaway and it looks like the peloton are happy with this one. The gap is still very small though at only 13 seconds. We'll bring you the names as soon as we can. 


  13. 12:03:00 BST

    It looks like Bradley Wiggins was caught up in that  crash. He doesn't look hurt and he's making his way back to the bunch. 


  14. 12:02:30 BST

    With the carnage behind, we've got five riders who have gone up the road but the peloton are chasing them. 


  15. 12:00:47 BST

    Racing has only just begun and we've already got a crash. A lot of riders have gone down.


  16. 11:59:21 BST

    Today's route will travel just south of the historic city of York and finish in Settle. There are a couple of tricky little climbs near the finish, which could split the peloton. 


  17. 11:52:08 BST

    The riders are now rolling out for the neutral start. It's a 183km day out there for the peloton. 


  18. 11:46:58 BST

    Welcome to the Tour de Yorkshire and the riders are just minutes away from starting. It's cold out there and there is plenty of arm and leg warmers around.